Awards and Scholarships

 Graded Scholarship Program

In addition to general performance opportunities, the Kanata Music Club offers a graded scholarship program.  This program is available to students of teachers who regularly attend our concerts as markers.  A scholarship Application form must be submitted by the teacher prior to the student’s first performance of scholarship repertoire.  Scholarship repertoire is to be selected from a recognized conservatory exam syllabus at the student’s specified grade level, and performed by memory.  Decisions on the awarding of these scholarships are made on the basis of marks given by teachers, and the scholarships are presented at the June Awards Concert.  Details regarding the scholarship repertoire requirements are outlined in Teacher’s Services.

The Lillian Jackson Memorial Trophy

The Lillian Jackson Memorial Trophy has been awarded since 1996 to a Kanata Music Club member at the senior level who has performed with excellence at our concerts for several years.  The recipient is chosen by the Executive and presentation of the trophy is made at the June Awards concert.  Congratulations to our 2016 recipient Delia Li!

Past recipients of the Lillian Jackson Trophy are:

  • 1996: Cindy Cheng
  • 1997: Tamar Shostakovsky
  • 1998: Louise Chan
  • 1999: Michael Eng
  • 2000: Alan Higginson
  • 2001: Andrew Mok
  • 2002: Sonja Ip
  • 2003: Jenna Wong
  • 2004: Bonnie Huor
  • 2005: Monique Nadeau
  • 2006: Jasmine Lim
  • 2007:  Haewoon Yang
  • 2008:  Rebecca Lee
  • 2009: Willy Weng
  • 2010:  Marie Haines
  • 2011: Phillip Cho
  • 2012: Ryan Hum
  • 2013: Felix Wong
  • 2014: Andrea Sim
  • 2015: Haotian Yu
  • 2016:  Delia Li
  • 2017:  Spencer Klymyshyn

Kiwanis Music Festival Scholarship

Each year the Kanata Music Club donates scholarship money to the Kiwanis Music Festival to be awarded at their discretion.